Wednesday, June 30, 2010

No Texting while Driving in Michigan--effective 7/1/10

Michigan has just enacted its first law against texting while driving. Effective Thursday, July 1, 2010, it is now illegal for a driver of a vehicle to read, type or send a text message from a mobile device situated in the driver’s hand or lap.

This is the first state-wide legislation enacted, and it supersedes any local laws that were previously enacted.

Effective July 1, 2010, it will be a civil infraction to text and drive, and a first offense carries a $100.00 fine. A second and all other subsequent offenses carry a $200.00 fine.

Click here to read the law itself: MCL 257.602b

Click here to read the Detroit Free Press story on the new law: Mobile texting ban nearly here


If you are interested in learning more, please call Wendy Alton at 734-665-4441 or email her at walton@psedlaw.com. More information about her firm, Pear Sperling Eggan & Daniels, P.C., can be found here: www.psedlaw.com.

0 comments:

Post a Comment